Reeves extends mask mandate for Sunflower County, others

Sunflower County residents will have to continue to wear masks in public and curb social gatherings until at least mid-August.

Gov. Tate Reeves announced Thursday he is extending his county-specific orders, which initially included Sunflower County, and he is adding eight more counties to the list.

"We are throwing everything that we can at the hospital crisis in our state, and we are going to continue working to ensure the integrity of our health care system," said Governor Tate Reeves to today's press briefing. "I want to underscore again: even if you do not personally fear Coronavirus, the overwhelming of the system affects everybody. If you get in a car wreck, you don’t want to be treated in a tent like we saw in other parts of the country. You want to get the best possible care."

The order for the additional locations will go into effect Aug. 3.

Those counties are  Carroll, Coahoma, Jones, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Noxubee and Pontotoc Counties.


Brad Grinstead, head softball coach at Mississippi Delta Community College, announced his signing... READ MORE


Graveside services for Delois Collins Williams, 65, of Indianola will be held at 11 a.m. Saturday... READ MORE

Breaking News

Sunflower County Consolidated Schools Superintendent talks about the closure of schools during the... READ MORE