Eight candidates certified for House District 31 race


All eight candidates who recently qualified for the upcoming House District 31 special election have been certified.

According to a release from the State Board of Election Commissioners, Otis L. Anthony, Barbara Rose Brooks, Shannon D. Brown, B.B. Hammond, Carolyn Steele Joohnson, Jeanette Knighten-Washington, Ada M. Lindsey and Charles Modley have all qualified and have been certified by to run in the race.

The election date will be Nov. 6.

House District 31 covers Sunflower, Bolivar, Humphreys and Washington counties.


Basketball practice has already started for some at North Sunflower Academy.


Graveside services for Merlin Williams of Belzoni will be at 12 noon Saturday at Swiftown United... READ MORE

Breaking News

Sunflower County Consolidated Schools Superintendent talks about the closure of schools during the... READ MORE